Library: Ka Waihona Puke Hawaiʻi o ke Kulanui Kaiāulu Koʻolau: Newspapers

Newspaper Guides

Guide to Newspapers of Hawai'i 1834-2000 na Helen G. Chapin
Helu Kuhi Puke: HAWN Z6952 .H3C43 2000
The Hawaiian Newspapers na Esther K. Mookini
Helu Kuhi Puke: HAWN Z6953.5 .H3 M66 1974

Newspaper Full Text Databases

Chronicling America
Find full-text articles from historic Hawai'i and U.S. newspapers, between 1836-1922.
Hoʻolaupaʻi, He ʻOhina Nūpepa ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi (Hawaiian Nūpepa Collection)
Hawaiian language newpapers, covering ca. 1834-1948. Most pages are available as images-only. Some pages have been converted to searchable text (and are available as images also). Via Ulukau / Nupepa.org.
Ka ʻOhana
Ka ʻOhana is Windward Community College’s award-winning student newspaper, a monthly publication that covers both campus and community news.
US West Newsstream
Articles from newspapers, news wires, and news sites from AK, CA, HI, ID, NV, OR, UT & WA with coverage from the 1980s through the present.
Ka Wā Ma Mua, Ka Wā Ma Hope
Using the Past to Inform the Future: English Translation of Hawaiian Language Newspaper Accounts of Unusual Weather Events.
more...less...
This database focuses on newspaper articles that highlight weather and climate change in Hawaiʻi. It displays the original Hawaiian newspaper article and also the English language transcription.

Newspaper Indexes

What is an index? Click here for a definition.

Bob Krauss Research Index
The Bob Krauss Research Index is an index of English-language newspaper content from Hawaii, covering 1840 through 1944. It is not comprehensive but covers periods of time for which there is no formal indexing. Includes links to online copies of newspapers, where available.
Hawaii Newspaper Index, 1989-
Index to the Honolulu Advertiser, the Honolulu Star-Bulletin, and the Honolulu Star-Advertiser from 1989 to 2020.
Index to the Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star-Bulletin
Indexes 1929-1989. (1929-1967 online.)

Want More?

For more information on Hawaii newspapers, see the University of Hawaii Libraries subject guide on newspapers: http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/hawaiinewspapers