Skip to main content

Ka Waihona Puke Hawaiʻi o ke Kulanui Kaiāulu Koʻolau: Home

E komo mai - Welcome

Hawaiian Collection Room Hours

Spring 2017

Monday - Wednesday 12 - 4 pm
Thursday - Friday 11 - 4 pm

Room closed, but you need an item?

Ask a library staff to retrieve it for you or submit a request online. Click on the Requesting Items tab for instructions.

About the Hawaiʻi Collection

The Hawaiʻi Collection at Windward Community College Library has over 7,000 items including books, periodicals, pamphlets, maps, and audio/visual media. The collection contains Hawaiʻi-related materials about the humanities, arts, natural sciences, and social sciences. The collection primarily supports the interdisciplinary Hawaiian Studies Associate of Arts Degree and Certificate curriculum, helping students dive into the rich repositories of information about Hawaiʻi’s language, history, cultural traditions, performing and visual arts, land, and ocean systems.

Location
The Hawaiʻi Collection is housed in the Hawaiʻi Collection Room on the 3rd floor of the Library; the majority of the Libraryʻs Hawaiʻi-related materials are located here. Exceptions: Current Hawaiʻi periodicals are in the Periodicals section (1st floor) and maps/microfilm are located in the common area adjacent to Room 317. Additionally, the Reference Collection (2nd floor) has some Hawaiʻi-related materials. Pacific resources not related to Hawaiʻi are kept in the Main Collection (3rd floor).

Circulation Policy
UH students, faculty, and staff can borrow materials from the Hawaiʻi Collection when two or more copies are available. The loan period is 14 days for books and 7 days for audiovisuals. All first copies are for use inside the library only. Community members may use Hawaiʻi Collection materials inside the library only. A valid, official picture ID (e.g. WCC ID, driver's license, or military ID) is required.

Windward Community College Library • 45-720 Keaʻahala Rd. • Kāneʻohe, HI 96744
Content: Creative Commons License Windward Community College Library
Alma Staff Login | Voyager