Library: WCC Archives: Home

Photo from the WCC Archives

"Family" by Sheryl Y. Watanabe. WCC Archives, Windward Hoʻolauleʻa 1989.

Contact Us

Research Help
Weekdays 8 AM - 4 PM
Call: 808-235-7338
Text: 808-731-2275
Chat: go.hawaii.edu/Vr3
Email: wccref@hawaii.edu

Circulation Desk
Weekdays 8 AM - 5 PM
Call: 808-235-7436
Email: wcclib@hawaii.edu

Library Building Hours

Building Hours
Weekdays 8 AM to 4 PM
Closed weekends & state holidays

Hawaiʻi Collection Fall Hours
Mon. 12 PM to 2 PM
Tues. 8 AM to 4 PM
Wed. 8 AM to 10 AM
Thu. 10:30 AM to 1 PM
Fri. 9 AM to 3 PM

About this Guide

This guide is for patrons and researchers planning to use the Windward Community College Archives. The archives consists of two distinct repositories: 1) the Institutional Archives, containing records pertaining to the College; 2) Koʻolau Community Archives, containing records about the Koʻolau region of Oʻahu.

In this guide you will find information about the archives program at Windward Community College Library including available collections, access information, donation details, and more. For immediate assistance with your research, please visit the WCC Library Help Desk during library open hours or call 808-235-7338.

What is an archive?

What are archives?

The word archives can be used in three different ways:

The word archives (usually written with a lower case a and sometimes referred to in the singular, as archive) refers to the permanently valuable records—such as letters, reports, accounts, minute books, draft and final manuscripts, and photographs—of people, businesses, and government. These records are kept because they have continuing value to the creating agency and to other potential users. They are the documentary evidence of past events. They are the facts we use to interpret and understand history.
An Archives (often written with a capital A and usually, but not always, in the plural) is an organization dedicated to preserving the documentary heritage of a particular group: a city, a province or state, a business, a university, or a community. For example, the National Archives and Records Administration in the United States, Bentley Historical Library at the University of Michigan, The Coca-Cola Company Archives, and The Archives of the Episcopal Church are all responsible for the preservation and management of archives.
The word archives is also used to refer to the building or part of a building in which archival materials are kept, i.e., the archival repository itself.

Excerpted from The Story Behind the Book: Preserving Authors’ and Publishers’ Archives by Laura Millar

Open to Collaborate

WCC Archives is open to collaboration!

We'd like to work with you. Our institution is committed to the development of new modes of collaboration, engagement, and partnership with our communities for the care and stewardship of past and future heritage collections.

Contact us at: wccref@hawaii.edu

Librarian

Elizabeth Seaton

she/her/hers

Email Me