Newspapers - HIST 284 - History of Hawai'i - Library at Windward Community College

Primary Source Example

First printed newspaper in Hawaiʻi, printed February 14, 1834. Image courtesy of Niʻihau Cultural Heritage Foundation, click here to view the orignal image.

Information about Hawai'i's Newspapers

Guide to Newspapers of Hawai'i 1834-2000 by Helen G. Chapin
Call Number: HAWN Z6952 .H3C43 2000
The Hawaiian Newspapers by Esther K. Mookini
Call Number: HAWN Z6953.5 .H3 M66 1974
Shaping History: The Role of Newspapers in Hawai'i by Helen Geracimos Chapin
Call Number: HAWN PN4897 .H33C48 1996

Indexes to Hawai'i's Newspapers

The Garden Island Index 1971-1980 by Catherine Lo
Call Number: HAWN AI21 .G3G37 1987
Index to the Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star-Bulletin 1929-1967
Call Number: HAWN AI21 .H3 1929/1967
The Index to The Maui News 1900-1932 by Gail Bartholomew
Call Number: HAWN AI21 .M3 1985

Indexes, Databases & Useful Websites

Bob Krauss Research Index
An index of English-language newspapers from Hawaiʻi , 1840-1944
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
A database of America's newspapers, including many newspapers printed in Hawaiʻi from 1836-1922. The strengths of this database are full-text searches and full access available.
Hawaii Newspaper Index
An index of articles from the Honolulu Star-Bulletin, Honolulu Advertiser, and Star-Advertiser from 1989 to 2020.
Hoʻolaupaʻi: Hawaiian Nūpepa Collection
A database of Hawaiian Language Newspapers printed from 1834-1948. One of the biggest strengths of this database is access to the full newspaper page. One of the limitations is only a small number of newspaper pages are full-text searchable.
Nupepa
A useful website aimed to foster greater interest in Hawaiian-language newspapers by featuring articles translated into English. Please note, the author of this website has noted that the translations are merely works in progress.

How Do I Access Newspapers?

Microfilm
WCC no longer has a Microfilm collection.

To view articles from the Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star-Bulletin before you will need to go to the Hawaiʻi State Library or UH Mānoaʻs Hamilton Library.

Online
Chronicling America is the leading database for online access to historic newspapers in English.

Hoʻolaupaʻi is the leading database for online access to historic newspapers in Hawaiian.

Hawai'i Newspapers Available at WCC

Interested in learning more about Hawaii's Newspapers available at WCC & Online? Click here

HIST 284 - History of Hawai'i: Newspapers