Test ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi LibGuide: Library Policies

Windward Community College Library ("Library") is open to any individual who wishes to use materials inside the building. Almost all materials are available on open shelves for self-retrieval. Selected materials are kept in protective storage and may not be available to all users, or may be available only to persons affiliated with the University of Hawai'i.

Purpose

Revised 2/24/2012

Windward Community College Library ("Library") develops collections, resources, and services that meet the educational, instructional, and research needs of the College community. To further meet these needs, the Library provides computer and audiovisual equipment for the purpose of accessing electronic information resources and using audiovisual media. The Computer and Audiovisual Equipment Use Policy is part of the Library's overall policy structure and should be interpreted in conjunction with other existing policies and procedures.

Windward Community College Library ("Library") provides faculty a way to lend materials they have reserved for their students to use. These materials may include physical-format items such as books, DVDs, course packets, class notes, homework solutions, sample papers, models, etc. Faculty may supply their own personal copies or place library materials on reserve.

Submission Deadlines for Course Reserves Lists and Materials

Please submit your lists and materials by the following dates to ensure your students will have access from the first day of class:

While the semester is in session, submit lists and materials at least two weeks in advance of the assigned use of the material. The Library processes reserve requests in the order received.

How to Submit Course Reserves Lists and Materials

To place items on Course Reserves, download the Reserve List Form and submit in person at the Circulation Desk or email the completed form to wreserve@hawaii.edu.

Library staff will retrieve Library-owned items. Please bring personal copies directly to the Circulation Desk.

Labels and a barcode will be affixed to each item. Because materials may become damaged or lost, the Library advises against placing valuable or irreplaceable items on reserve.

Purchase Requests for Items Not in Library Collection

If you want to reserve an item that the Library does not own, Library staff will consider a request to purchase one copy. Due to cost and licensing restrictions, the Library does not purchase assigned textbooks.

To make a purchase request, email a complete citation for each item (including author, title, edition, publisher, ISBN and publication date) to wreserve@hawaii.edu.

Allow at least two months for purchasing and processing items.

Number of Copies Per Course

Instructors may submit a maximum of three copies per title.

List Deactivation and Return of Materials

At the end of Spring semester, the Library will deactivate course reserves lists. Library staff will contact you to arrange pickup or delivery of items to your campus mailbox. Library-owned items will be returned to their respective shelves.

Reactivating Lists from Previous Semesters

Course Reserves lists are not reactivated automatically. Lists used within the past 2 years may be reactivated by submitting a request to wreserve@hawaii.edu.

Restrictions on Course Reserve Materials

Copyright compliance is the responsibility of the submitting faculty member. The Library reserves the right to refuse or remove any course reserve item deemed impermissible under copyright law.

Section 107 of the U.S. Copyright Code outlines the Fair Use doctrine, and Section 108 of the US Copyright Code specifies the circumstances under which libraries may use duplicated materials. The American Library Association has several resources to help you determine how you may use copyrighted materials.

Copyright law allows you to place a textbook on reserve at the Library, so long as it is not done in lieu of having students purchase their own copy.

The Library cannot reserve items from its Reference or Periodicals Collections or those belonging to another library.

Classroom Showings of Reserved Media

If you have placed an audio or video recording on reserve for one of your courses, you may borrow it for up to seven days, as long as the item is not on reserve for another course. Any other instructor may check out a reserved video or sound recording for up to 24 hours for classroom use. As a professional courtesy, we encourage communication between instructors to prevent misgivings or student hardship.

Questions? Contact Christy Lawes, Access Services Manager, at 235-7441 or clawes@hawaii.edu.

Policy updated 08/06/14

To offer new and faster services, and to save money, as of September 1st, 2004, the UH System Libraries will no longer send library notices by US postal mail. Instead, all notices will be sent electronically to username@hawaii.edu email addresses. These notices include:

• upcoming due date notices
• upcoming due date notices
• pick-up notices recall notices overdue notices
• fines and fees notices
• invoices

UH students, faculty and staff should check for hawaii.edu email often. Email can be accessed through MyUH or Google@UH, or forwarded to another email account (such as Hotmail or Road Runner). Get instructions on how to forward UH email.

Windward Community College Library ("Library")
Executive Conference Room(s)
Hale Laakea, Rooms 304-305

Use

Reservation and use of the conference room(s) is limited to the following:

• The Windward Community College (WCC) Office of the Chancellor may request to reserve the room(s) to host Executive Staff or UH Systemwide meetings, donor/fundraising events, accreditation team visits, etc. 
• UH Systemwide groups may request use of the room(s) to host meetings and events. Examples of such groups include: the Wo Learning Champions, the UH Library Council, and the UH Marketing Directors.
• The room(s) may be reserved for UH system-wide training events, such as conferences, Learning to Learn seminars, etc.
• WCC librarians may reserve the room(s) for information literacy workshops and class visits to the library.

Reservations

• The room(s) may be reserved a maximum of eight weeks in advance and a minimum of two working days in advance.
• Direct reservation requests to the Access Services Manager, Christy Lawes, at clawes@hawaii.edu or 808-235-7441.

Room Setup

• Those reserving the room will be responsible for its setup and for returning it to its prior state at the end of the event/meeting. 
• A carpet sweeper and other cleaning supplies will be made available upon request. 
• Extra chairs or tables must be requested at least two working days before the event.

Food

• Food and beverages are allowed in the room(s).
• Beverages must be dispensed in covered containers when feasible (coffee cups with lids, sodas in bottles, etc.). 
• Anyone wishing to serve alcohol must get permission in advance from the WCC Office of the Chancellor. 
• Crumbs and spills must be thoroughly cleaned up as soon as possible. 
• Following the event, all trash containing food or beverage must be carried out of the building and disposed of in a proper outdoor receptacle.
• The Staff Lounge may be used minimally to stage food and beverage service. Please keep the staging area as compact as possible to keep the room available to building staff for its intended purpose. 
• The refrigerator is reserved for use by building staff.

Keys

• A member of WCC's admin, staff, or faculty must present their photo ID to check out the conference room keys. 
• During the meeting or event, the emergency exit door from the lanai must remain unlocked and fully accessible. This must be locked again at the end of the meeting or event.
• The keys must remain in the building. 
• The replacement cost for a lost key is $100.

Effective 03/19/2013

Individuals may contest charges for overdue, damaged, missing, or lost materials borrowed from the Windward Community College Library ("Library"). The Library intends to provide a fair and impartial review for each individual's case while exercising its responsibility for stewardship of its collections.

Step 1: Verbal Consultation

Within 90 days of the date that the charges were incurred, speak with the Circulation Manager and explain why you believe the charges should be reduced or dismissed.

Step 2: Written Appeal

If you disagree with the outcome of your consultation with the Circulation Manager, complete a written appeal using the Library Fines and Fees Appeal Form, and submit it to the Circulation Manager within 120 days of the date that the charges were incurred. The appeal will be reviewed by a library committee and a written response will be mailed to you within 30 days of receipt.  Once the committee makes a decision, the appeal process will end.

Please note:

1. Only the person in whose name the charges appear may appeal the obligation.
2. Library staff will only consider appeals made within the stipulated timeline.

Overdue Fines

Overdue fines are assessed daily, including weekends and holidays, at the following rates:

• Books & pamphlets: $.25 per day.
• Recalled books: $.50 per day
• Reserve materials, regardless of format: $.50 per day
• Audiovisuals (Videos, CD-ROMs, DVDs): $1.00 per day
• Laptops: $1.00 per hour or fraction of an hour
• The maximum accumulated overdue fine is $10 per item

Windward Community College Library ("Library") items that are long overdue are automatically declared lost. Specifically,

• Books are lost when 41 days overdue
• Reserve items are lost when 21 days overdue
• Audiovisuals (videos) are lost when 11 days overdue
• Laptops are lost when 10 hours overdue

Effective January 1, 2003

Windward Community College Library ("Library") accepts donations of materials that support the research and teaching mission of courses and programs at the College. Received materials will be evaluated with criteria consistent with the Library Collection Development Policy.  Upon receipt, materials become the property of the Library and will be reviewed by the Collection Management or Subject Librarian. 

In accordance with United States tax regulations, the Library is not permitted to make appraisals of gifts.  It is the responsibility of the donor to keep appropriate records of items donated.  Library staff is not able to maintain records of sufficient detail to report to donors.

Criteria for Inclusion

• For donations of more than ten items, a list of titles must be submitted to Sarah Gray, Collection Management Librarian (skgray@hawaii.edu, 235-7450), before delivery. For large collections, an onsite visit may be arranged.
• Donors may not place restrictions on gifts. The Library becomes the owner of all donated items and reserves the right to determine their retention, location, cataloging treatment, and other considerations related to their use, maintenance, removal, or disposal. 
• Gifts must be in good condition as deemed by Library staff. For example, books that are falling apart, missing pages, marked up, or are yellowed/stained are not accepted. Books with mold or mildew are rejected outright.
• Periodicals, outdated audiovisual formats, and duplicates of collection items are generally not accepted, except in special cases.
• Donors wanting to purchase items for the Library should contact the Collection Management Librarian to discuss needed materials. Alternatively, monetary donations can be made at https://giving.uhfoundation.org/funds/12475104 or via the Honor with Books form (available at the Library front desk).
• Upon request, a bookplate and note in the catalog record can be added with donor or honoree name.

Gift Authorization Form

Upon donation, donors must complete the Gift Authorization Form indicating agreement with the Library’s Gift Acceptance Policy. The number of items of each type of gift will be recorded. This form is for the Collection Management Librarian’s records. 

Acknowledgement Letter

After gifts are accepted, an acknowledgement letter from the Head Librarian will be sent to the donor. The letter will note the number of items accepted but will not list individual titles or estimate the value of the donation. In order to receive a letter of acknowledgement, donors must complete the Gift Authorization Form.

Effective 12/28/16

Approved by the University of Hawai'i System Libraries' Library Council on September 9, 2005.

I. Introduction

The Libraries of the University of Hawai'i System are all part of the same institutional system. Therefore, the loan of materials between campuses for students, faculty and staff is considered to be intrasystem, and such a transaction called an IntraSystem Loan (ISL). These guidelines form the basis for a voluntary agreement adopted by the Libraries of the University of Hawai'i System to govern the rules for requesting and supplying an ISL among these libraries.

ISL service is an essential means of resource sharing to expand the range of materials available to University of Hawai'i system students, faculty and staff.

II. Definition

An ISL is a transaction in which library material, or a photocopy of the material, is supplied by one system library to another. This loan of materials between campuses is called an IntraSystem Loan (ISL).

III. Purpose

The purpose of ISL is to provide a broader range of resources, in a timely manner, for University of Hawai`i students, faculty and staff than would be otherwise available at one campus. ISL acts as an adjunct to, not a replacement of, the collection development policy of each system library.

IV. Fees

A. ISL fees may be charged by the supplying library to the requesting library. Shipping charges may be charged to the requesting library in addition to this service fee:

• Loans - no fee
• Photocopies - no fee up to 50 pages; $3.00 for each additional 50 pages
• Audio-visual media and fiche duplicates - $3.00 per item 

B. Requesting libraries may impose transaction fees on patrons requesting loans.

V. Responsibilities of the Requesting Library

1. Each library shall provide the resources to meet the ordinary needs and interests of its students, faculty and staff. Materials obtained from another system library on behalf of its students, faculty and staff should generally be limited to those items that do not conform to the library's collection development policy or for which there is no recurring demand.
2. The requesting library shall make every effort to exhaust its own resources before using ISL.
3. To ensure students, faculty and staff are able to use materials in a timely manner, items may be obtained through ISL rather than through circulation Recall or Hold. 
4. Material borrowed from another library should not be put on reserve, with the exception of material from the home library to support distance education programs. In rare cases, when no other option but reserve is available, the consent of the supplying library must be obtained before putting a borrowed item on reserve. 
5. The requesting library is responsible for compliance with the copyright law (Title 17, U.S. Code) and its accompanying guidelines governing the reproduction of copyrighted material, and should inform its users of the applicable portions of the law.  
6. Material that does not circulate may be requested to be photocopied for a fee to be paid by the requesting campus if in compliance with the copyright law (Title 17, U.S. Code). The supplying library may charge a fee for large photocopy orders as specified in this document.
7. Requests should be submitted using a standard Voyager form, which transmits the bibliographic description and holdings of the requested material. In rare cases when a system library requests an item for which there is no Voyager record, the request shall be submitted via email with the statement “cannot verify” along with information about the original source of the citation.
8. All items obtained through ISL will be charged directly to the patron. The patron is then responsible for returning the items. The supplying library's circulation and fining policies apply. Fines for ISL audio-visual items are charged at a higher rate to ensure prompt return of items.
9. Renewal of ISL materials should be undertaken directly by the patron through their own account in WebVoyage. 
10. Borrowers may request up to a total of ten (10) ISL items per day.

VI. Responsibilities of the Supplying Library

1. The decision to lend materials or provide photocopies is at the discretion of the supplying library. 
2. The supplying library should process requests as promptly as staff resources allow. The conditions of the loan should be clearly stated.
3. The supplying library should promptly notify the requesting library when it is unable to fill a request, stating the reason for not filling the request. 
4. Loaned materials should be packaged carefully and delivered via Campus Mail whenever appropriate, or other expedited shipping method when not. Photocopies should be delivered electronically whenever feasible, either via Ariel® document transmission software, or as an email attachment.
5. ISL material remains the responsibility of the supplying library from the time the material leaves the supplying library until it is charged out to the patron.

VII. Duration of Loan

1. Materials arriving at the requesting library will be held for the patron for ten days from the date of notification unless specified otherwise by the supplying library.
2. The duration of loans, unless otherwise specified, is the period of time materials may remain with the requesting library or patron, depending upon to whom these materials are charged at the end of this duration, excluding the time spent in transit. 
3. ISL materials should be returned promptly. 
4. All loaned materials may be subject to recall.  

IntraSystem Loan Policy is agreed to by the following Libraries of the University of Hawai'i System:

• Honolulu Community College
• John A. Burns School of Medicine Library
• Kapi'olani Community College
• Kaua'i Community College
• Leeward Community College
• Maui Community College
• William S. Richardson School of Law Library
• Windward Community College
• University Center at West Hawai'i
• University of Hawai'i at Hilo/Hawai'i Community College
• University of Hawai'i at Mānoa
• University of Hawai'i West O'ahu

*UH Hamilton Hawaiian & Pacific Collections – Items can be requested via mediated ISL patron accounts only, request via Voyager callslip, include patron information in comments.
Revised Feb 2014, Dee Akiu, HonCC

Updated 2/21/17

The Windward Community College Library ("Library") has laptop computers which can connect to the wireless campus network. This policy outlines the responsibilities that individuals accept when they check out a laptop computer from the Library.

Eligible borrowers are students, faculty and staff of Windward Community College (WCC) who

1. Have a current, validated WCC ID (available at the Student Activity Center, Hale ‘Ākoakoa room 232, ph: 235-7395), Hawaii Drivers License, Hawaii State ID, Kingdom of Hawaii ID, or a Military ID.
2. Do not owe more than $10 to UH system libraries.
3. Have read this policy and agreed to its terms by signing a WCC Laptop Borrower’s Agreement.

Borrowing of laptops:

1. Laptops are available on a first-come, first-served basis; they may not be reserved in advance.
2. Laptops are to be used in the Library building.
3. Laptops may be checked out for up to 4 hours; laptop loans may not be renewed.
4. Laptops must be returned to the circulation desk 15 minutes before the Library closes each day.  They may not be kept overnight.
5. Overdue fines are $1.00 per hour or fraction of an hour.
6. A borrower is responsible for the laptop checked out to his/her account and will be assessed repair and/or replacement costs for any loss, theft or damage of the laptops in addition to fines and processing fees.
7. Replacement costs: laptop = $1700; AC adaptor= $120; battery =$150.
8. All users must abide by the Libraries of the University of Hawai'i System Circulation Policy, Revised April 2012, the UH Policy on the Use and Mangement of Information Technology Resources, and the Windward Community College Library Computer and Audiovisual Equipment Use Policy.

Laptop users are expected to exercise reasonable care and must take the following precautions:

1. Safeguard the laptop at all times; never leave it unattended. If the laptop is lost, stolen or damaged, repair and/or replacement costs and fines and processing fees will be charged.
2. Save all work to a flash drive. All files saved to the laptop will be erased upon logging off or shut down. The Library is not responsible for any lost or damaged files.
3. Close the screen securely when transporting the laptop as the screen can easily damage. 
4. Return the laptops directly to the staff at the Circulation Desk who will check for damage.
5. Immediately report malfunctions and unusual programs or software to the Circulation Desk.
6. Use the AC adaptor whenever possible to extend the battery life.
7. Do not add, delete, or change any programs, applications, files, screen savers or bookmarks.

The resources and services provided by the Windward Community College Library ("Library") are designed to support Windward Community College programs, students, faculty, and staff. The Library Use Policy was created to ensure a welcoming, intellectual, and safe environment for all users in the pursuit of study and research.

A. General Use: Use of the Library is intended for research, individual or collaborative studying, and learning in a quiet environment.

Users may not

• Engage in disruptive activity or any behavior that interferes with ordinary Library use or operation. Examples include, but are not limited to, cell phone ringing/phone conversations, loud audio from electronic devices, or obstructing pathways.

• Interfere with an employee's performance of duties.

B. Facility Use: Library facilities are intended for Library activities and activities sponsored by the Library. Users are expected to respect Library facilities for the preservation of the building, furniture and equipment, and resources for current and future users.

Users may not

• Damage or alter the layout of the building, furniture, equipment, or materials.

• Bring food or uncovered beverages into the building, with the exception of the coffee shop and adjoining dining area. 

• Bring animals into the building, with the exception of service animals as defined the Americans With Disabilities Act Title II Regulations (Title II 35.136).

• Bring bikes or motorized carts into the building. Mobility aids, other than those used by persons with disabilities or for babies, are not permitted in the Library unless carried as personal property (e.g. skateboards, scooters).

• Enter or remain in unauthorized areas of Library facilities at any time, or in any area when it is closed to the public. Users must leave the building at closing, during emergencies, and whenever requested by Library staff or safety/security personnel.

• Post or distribute unauthorized material.

• Engage in vending, peddling, panhandling, or solicitation of merchandise/services.

• Leave personal belongings unattended. Responsibility for damage or theft of personal property is with the user.

C. Children's Library Use: Children under 13 years of age must be accompanied and supervised by a parent or guardian at all times. Parents are responsible for children's use of the Library.

Revised 12/18/2015

University of Hawai'i System Students, Faculty and Staff

Libraries of the University of Hawai'i System Community Borrower Cards

Policy Updated 02/15//2017