Library: Agripharmatech: Databases

Databases

Instead of scrolling through individual academic journals to find a scholarly article, it's a massive time-saver to use a database. Think of a database like a super-organized feed filled with tons of academic journals. When you search a database, it instantly sifts through all the articles from every single journal it holds, helping you pinpoint exactly what you need, fast!

Here are a list of databases we have at WCC Library that are great for finding articles related to Agripharmitech topics.

AGRICOLA
For finding materials related to agriculture, forestry, and animal science. It has citations and some full-text journal articles, books, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports.
NAL SEARCH
The USDA search portal for finding content from the AGRICOLA, PubAG, and NAL Digital Collections. Topics include agriculture, nutrition, invasive species, natural resource conservation, and other related fields.
Science Direct
Includes scholarly publications from a wide range of disciplines, including physical sciences, health sciences, life sciences, and social sciences.
Science Direct
Includes scholarly publications from a wide range of disciplines, including physical sciences, health sciences, life sciences, and social sciences.
Semantic Scholar
A free, A.I.-powered research tool for scientific literature. Filter by publication type, field of study, authors, and date range. Provides short summaries, identifies highly influential publications, and generates bibliographic citations.

Ask a Librarian

Use this to chat with a librarian during normal service hours. If a librarian isn't currently available, we invite you to email us at wccref@hawaii.edu

Contact us

Help Desk 808-235-7338
Circulation Desk 808-235-7436

Email wccref@hawaii.edu

WCC Library Staff Directory

Visit us in Hale Laʻakea

Databases

Here are a few databases to get you started in your research related to your Plant Biotechnology Courses:

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This is a large, multi-disciplinary collection of mostly full-text magazine, newspaper, and journal articles on a wide array of subjects. It's a great place to start for almost any topic.
PQDT Open
PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. You can quickly and easily locate dissertations and theses relevant to your discipline, and view the complete text in PDF format.
AGRICOLA
For finding materials related to agriculture, forestry, and animal science. It has citations and some full-text journal articles, books, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports.
Semantic Scholar
A free, A.I.-powered research tool for scientific literature. Filter by publication type, field of study, authors, and date range. Provides short summaries, identifies highly influential publications, and generates bibliographic citations.
Science Direct
Includes scholarly publications from a wide range of disciplines, including physical sciences, health sciences, life sciences, and social sciences.
NAL SEARCH
The USDA search portal for finding content from the AGRICOLA, PubAG, and NAL Digital Collections. Topics include agriculture, nutrition, invasive species, natural resource conservation, and other related fields.
Plants of Hawaii
Information on every flowering plant species documented in Hawai‘i, including detailed descriptions of each taxon, multi-access ID keys, herbarium specimen data and images, and thousands of field images.
Botany Commons
This contains full-text scholarly articles, book chapters, and other original scholarly work from universities and colleges.
JSTOR Global Plants
Type specimens and related materials from partner herbaria, including reference works and primary sources, such as collectors’ correspondence and diaries, illustrations, and photographs.