HWST 273 - Tattoo Traditions of Polynesia: Archives & Special Collections

Some libraries and archives allow you to take photos or scan for free, saving you lots of quarters.

Libraries and archives are chilly places, bring something warm.

Some libraries and archives only take quarters and copies usually cost .25, so be sure to bring a $10.00 roll just in case.

The HSA, HHS, HMCS are all within walking distance of each other. Parking is expensive and limited to two hours, so catch the bus!

Located in Hamilton Library, this library is the cheapest place to make copies of materials on microfilm. Copies cost 10 cents but scanning is free. Parking is also free on Sundays, saving you at least $5.00!

Places to eat near libraries and archives can be expensive, ranging from $8.00-$12.00, so if you are on a budget, be sure to bring lunch.

Search the libraries and archives online catalog before visiting to save time and money.

Collections: The Hawaiian Collection at UH Mānoa holds the largest collection of published materials about Hawai'i and the Pacific. One of the biggest strengths of this collection is their expansive collection of newspapers published throughout Hawai'i that are available on microfilm. Another strength is their archival collections. They include topics ranging from the Hawai'i Sugar Planters' Association to theses and dissertations from across the world that pertain to Hawai'i.

Collection: The Hawaiʻi State Archives preserves and provides access to the State’s government archives and special collections. These records date from the monarchy to the current legislative session, and also include the papers of individuals and organizations, photographs, maps, artifacts, rare books, as well as 19th-century newspapers.

Collection: The Historical Society has a strong collection of early voyages and Hawaiian-language books. This collection also includes many unique manuscripts, as well as broadsides and pamphlets published in Hawaiʻi. It also contains one of the largest collections of Hawaiian language newspapers still available in physical form.

Collection: The HMCS/MHM Library has the largest collection of Hawaiian-language books as well as the largest collection of missionary correspondence, journals, and reports.

Collection: The Museum’s Archives holds the results of extensive studies done by Museum staff in various disciplines throughout the Pacific, as well diverse and important collections of manuscripts, photographs, artwork, oral histories, commercial sound recordings and maps about Hawai'i chiefs, people, culture, and history.

A portal to "openly available material" from "America’s libraries, archives, and museums."