Skip to Main Content
Finding Biographical Articles
Hint: Iif you want a newspaper, magazine or journal article that you can't get online for free, don't pay for it — ask a librarian to get it for you.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This is a large, multi-disciplinary collection of mostly full-text magazine, newspaper, and journal articles on a wide array of subjects. It's a great place to start for almost any topic.
Biography Reference Center
Articles from magazines, journals, and reference works, including Biography Today, Biography, and Oxford's American National Biography.
"Peer-reviewed papers, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, universities and other scholarly organizations." Hint: Login to set up a Library Link to WCC’s library databases.
Popular full-text periodicals, reference books, primary source documents, and images.
Newspaper Source Plus
Domestic and international news from over 1,200 full-text newspapers, articles from news magazines and newswires, and transcripts from television and radio news.
Recent news stories from the Associated Press and Business Wire. Older news from United Press International.
Articles from international and regional newspapers, periodicals, plus biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
US West Newsstream
Articles from newspapers, news wires, and news sites from AK, CA, HI, ID, NV, OR, UT & WA with coverage from the 1980s through the present.
Set up Library Links to WCC databases from Google Scholar
Link gScholar to WCC Library
- Log in to your Google@ UH account.
- Go to Google Scholar at http://scholar.google.com
- Clink on the Settings link at the top of the page (Click "More" if you don't see it)
- Click on the Library Links tab
- Enter Windward in the search box
- Click Find Library
- Check the boxes for:
- Windward Community College – GetThis@WCC
- Windward Community College – Full-Text ProQuest
- Repeat search for all of your campuses. You may have up to 5 library links.
- Click Save
Public Library Resources
Log in with your Hawaii State Public Library card number and PIN (typically the last 4 digits of your phone number).
(Via HSPLS) Gale in Context: Biography
Reference content, periodicals and multimedia. Search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Log in with your Public Library Card number and PIN (the last 4 digits of your phone number).
Windward Community College Library • 45-720 Keaʻahala Rd. • Kāneʻohe, HI 96744
Content: Windward Community College Library