Windward Community College Library: Library Policies

Policy table of contents

Windward Community College Library ("Library") is open to any individual who wishes to use materials inside the building. Almost all materials are available on open shelves for self-retrieval. Selected materials are kept in protective storage and may not be available to all users, or may be available only to persons affiliated with the University of Hawai'i.

Policy table of contents

Purpose

This policy guides the systematic development and management of Windward Community College Library ("Library") information resources. The intent of this policy is to define a collection development and information access program to meet the following objectives:

1. Provide current, diverse, and balanced collections to support the curriculum
2. Provide access to information resources in appropriate formats
3. Encourage instructional faculty participation in collection development
4. Serve distance education students and faculty by providing remote access to materials in the most appropriate and cost-effective manner
5. Assist with short-range and long-range fiscal planning
6. Foster coordinated collection development and resource sharing between the University of Hawai‘i libraries

College Mission

'O keia ka wā kūpono e ho'onui ai ka 'ike me ka ho'omaopopo i kō Hawai'i mau ho'oilina waiwai. Aia nō ho'i ma ke Kulanui Kaiāulu o ke Ko'olau nā papahana hou o nā 'ike 'akeakamai a me nā hana no'eau. Me ke kuleana ko'iko'i e ho'ohiki ke Kulanui e kāko'o a e ho'okumu i ala e hiki kē kōkua i ka ho'onui 'ike a nā kānaka maoli. Na mākou nō e ho'olako, kāko'o a paipai i nā Ko'olau a kō O'ahu a'e me nā hana no'eau ākea, ka ho'ona'auao 'oihana a me ka ho'onui 'ike ma ke kaiāulu — hō'a'ano a e ho'oulu i nā haumāna i ka po'okela.

Windward Community College offers innovative programs in the arts and sciences and opportunities to gain knowledge and understanding of Hawai‘i and its unique heritage. With a special commitment to support the access and educational needs of Native Hawaiians, we provide O‘ahu’s Ko‘olau region and beyond with liberal arts, career and lifelong learning in a supportive and challenging environment — inspiring students to excellence.

Mission of College Library

Windward Community College Library is committed to providing exemplary services that foster information literacy and enhance teaching and learning, and to developing, organizing and maintaining resources that provide for diverse perspectives and styles of learning.

In accordance with the College's mission, the Library recognizes its responsibility to serve as an integral part of the College's instructional program by providing access to resources that support the college curriculum, by stimulating the intellectual development of students and faculty, by motivating students to acquire reading, research, and life-long learning skills, and by assisting faculty in maintaining awareness of current information resources and information literacy skills.

General Overview of Collections

Main Collection

The Main Collection contains scholarly and general interest resources that support the College curriculum. It includes over 50,000 items, including books, periodicals, maps, and audiovisual items.

Hawaiʻi Collection

The Hawaiʻi Collection contains Hawai'i-related materials about the humanities, arts, natural sciences, and social sciences. Special attention is given to collecting materials related to the Ko‘olau regions. The collection contains over 10,000 items in a wide range of formats, including books, periodicals, pamphlets, maps, and audiovisual items.

READ Collection

The READ Collection contains high-interest fiction and nonfiction materials to promote leisure reading, strengthen language and literacy skills, and foster a love of lifelong learning.

Collection Development Responsibility

Collection development is coordinated by the Collection Management Librarian. Working with the Collection Management Librarian, WCC Librarians select materials in their assigned subject areas using a variety of selection tools, including professional library literature.

All members of the College community are encouraged to participate in collection development. Faculty are strongly encouraged to recommend materials in their academic disciplines, particularly to support their courses. Suggestions from students, staff, and community members are also welcomed.

Cooperative Collection Development

To enhance the information base available to users, the Library cooperates with the other University of Hawai'i libraries to share resources and engage in cooperative acquisitions projects.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary loan and document delivery are utilized to provide materials outside the scope of the Library's collections.

Types and Formats of Materials Collected

Printed books for the Main and READ Collections are collected in paperback unless the content and value of the book make hardbound a better option. Books for the Hawaiʻi Collection are collected in hardback unless only available in paperback.

Reference materials, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, directories, indexes, bibliographies, statistical compilations, and handbooks, are purchased in support of the research and curriculum needs of students, and to provide introductory overviews of academic disciplines.

Serials/periodicals are publications issued in successive parts bearing numeric or chronological designations, such as magazines, journals, and newspapers. Serials are acquired via subscription to support the College curriculum, with an emphasis on electronic over print formats. Individual issues, short runs, or reprints are rarely acquired.

Audiovisual materials, including compact discs and DVDs, are purchased at the request of WCC faculty for classroom support. The Library does not purchase videotapes, audiotapes, or other obsolete formats.

Electronic resources, including subscription databases, e-books, periodicals, and streaming videos, are selected when they are the most current and/or cost-effective, or when user behavior or needs indicate a clear preference for electronic over physical format.

English language materials are collected with the exception of items for the Hawaiʻi Collection and foreign language materials supporting introductory language courses.

Popular fiction is generally not purchased unless in support of the Hawaiʻi or READ Collections. Established literary works and new works receiving critical acclaim in the literary field are considered, especially those works that support course offerings.

Duplicate materials are purchased for the Main and READ Collections only when high demand is anticipated. For the Hawaiʻi Collection, the Library acquires two copies of each title when possible.

Out-of-print materials are rarely acquired unless for replacement of heavily used items which are lost or withdrawn due to poor physical condition, or to fill gaps in the collection.

Faculty research is supported through Interlibrary Loan, reference assistance, and access to electronic resources. The Library does not purchase materials for individual faculty research projects.

General Criteria for Selection of Materials

Materials are considered for acquisition using the following evaluative criteria:

1. Relevance to the curriculum and appropriateness to users
2. Timeliness, accuracy, and lasting value
3. Reputation of the author, issuing body, and/or publisher
4. Suitability of format
5. Appropriate presentation: style, clarity, reading level
6. Aesthetic considerations: literary, artistic, or social value; appeal to the imagination, senses, or intellect
7. Physical and technical quality: paper, typography, design; size; binding; durability
8. Special features: detailed, accurate index; bibliography; footnotes; appropriate illustrations
9. Depth of current holdings in the same or similar subject
10. Demand, including frequency of interlibrary loan requests placed for material on the same or similar subject
11. Cost of material relative to the budget and other available material
12. Availability of material in other University of Hawai'i libraries or on the open Web

Additional Criteria for Electronic Resources

In addition to the general selection criteria above, the following are also considered:

1. Accessibility
2. Interface ease-of-use
3. Availability of online help
4. Quality of technical support
5. Availability of usage statistics
6. Flexibility of licensing models
7. Support for IP and proxy authentication
8. Compatibility with link resolver and discovery layer
9. The license agreement allows normal rights and privileges accorded to libraries under copyright law
10. The license agreement gives the Library’s indemnification against third-party copyright infringement

The Library attempts to balance physical and electronic resources without unnecessary duplication. However, resources may be duplicated when:

1. Multiple formats meet the needs of different user groups
2. Usage justifies additional copies
3. The resource has significant historical value
4. One format is unstable
5. A cost-benefit for purchasing multiple formats exists

Donations

Deselection (Weeding)

To maintain a well-balanced and useful collection of materials supporting the instructional programs of the College, and to provide materials with general interest value for the College community, the Library continually evaluates its collection resulting in withdrawal or replacement of some titles.

Obsolete, damaged, or otherwise unusable materials must be withdrawn to provide the Library with a quality collection. The following criteria are considered in withdrawing materials:

• Materials that no longer support the curriculum
• Poor physical condition; not suitable for rebinding or repair
• Outdated information with little historical value
• Replacement by a newer edition or a resource with better coverage or a more suitable format
• Duplicate copies of a title no longer in high demand
• Lack of space for materials
• Insufficient use
• Materials determined to be lost
• Unsupported or obsolete formats

Major withdrawal decisions are jointly discussed by librarians. Faculty in related disciplines may be consulted on the need to retain materials chosen for withdrawal.

Replacement of Materials

Titles that are missing, lost, or withdrawn because of wear/damage are not automatically replaced. The following criteria are used when making decisions on replacements:

• Continued value of the particular title
• Demand for the specific title
• Number of copies held
• Existing coverage of the subject
• Availability of newer or better material on the subject
• Availability of a replacement copy
• Price of the replacement copy

Preservation

Decisions to mend, bind, or withdraw worn books are made using the following considerations:

1. Value and use of the title
2. Cost of binding versus cost of replacement
3. Number of duplicate copies in the collection
4. Availability of replacement

Standards

The Library supports the statements on collection development contained within the Association of College and Research Libraries’ Standards for Libraries in Higher Education (revised February 2018).

Intellectual Freedom

The Library acquires materials that represent differing opinions and without censorship. The Library does not add or withdraw, at the request of any individual or group, material which has been chosen or excluded on the basis of stated selection criteria. The Library supports the American Library Association's Library Bill of Rights and Intellectual Freedom Principles for Academic Libraries: An Interpretation of the Library Bill of Rights.

Copyright

The Library complies with the amended Copyright Act (Title 17 of the U. S. Code) and supports the Fair Use section of the Copyright Law (17 U.S.C. 107), which permits and protects citizens' rights to reproduce and make other uses of copyrighted works for the purposes of teaching, scholarship, and research.

Policy Review

This policy is reviewed annually and updated as necessary.

Updated 3/15/19
Reviewed 1/30/23

Policy table of contents

Type:	Community User	UH Retiree	Hawai'i State/City Agencies	Research Organization	Associate Member
Criteria to Get Card	18 years or older	10 years of service in the University of Hawai'i System Memorandum from your department chair or campus personnel officer, signed and dated on official letterhead, stating that you have worked 10 or more years in the UH system	Completed application form for city, state and federal agencies Request printed on institution’s letterhead signed by fiscal or another authorized officer, including name(s) and ID number(s) of the individual borrowers	Completed "Research Card Request and Agreement" form Request printed on institution’s letterhead signed by fiscal or another authorized officer, including name(s) and ID number(s) of the individual borrowers	Anyone 18 years or older who wishes to join the Associates of the University of Hawai'i at Mānoa Library (friends group
Cost Non-refundable	6 months $30 1 year $60 Hawai'i residents 60 years & older: 6 months $20 1 year $30	10 Years FREE	First two cards, no charge Additional cards: $50 each per year	$60 each per year	$65 per year ($25 tax deductible as a donation)
Book Borrowing Limit	10 books	10 books	10 books	10 books	25 books
Loan Period	28 days	28 days	28 days	28 days	28 days
Renewals	1 renewal	1 renewal	1 renewal	1 renewal	1 renewal
AV Borrowing Privileges	UH Mānoa, Kapi'olani CC, Leeward CC, & Windward CC				UH Mānoa ONLY: In-house AV viewing free; borrowing $23 per title
	UH Hilo, UH West O'ahu, Kaua'i CC, & Maui College: No AV viewing or borrowing UH West O'ahu: AV viewing & borrowing for registered Hawaii Tokai Int’l College students & faculty only.
Replacement Fee	$5 per card	$5 per card	$5 per card	$5 per card	$5 per card
Card Issued    Non-Refundable	Immediately upon payment	Immediately upon completion of required forms	7 days after receipt of the application form, signed letterhead and payment	7 days after receipt of the application form, signed letterhead and payment	Immediately upon payment
			Card issued & renewed at Hamilton Library For more information call (808) 956-7203
			Card issued & renewed at UH Hilo For more information call (808) 932-7286
			Card issued & renewed at Maui College For more information call (808) 984-3583
			Card issued & renewed at UH West O'ahu For more information call (808) 984-3583
Eligible for Borrowing at	Kapi'olani CC; Kaua'i CC; Leeward CC; Maui College; UH Hilo & Hawai'i Community College; UH Mānoa*: Hamilton & Sinclair Libraries; UH West O'ahu; Windward CC (* Not Participating: Honolulu CC; UH Center, West Hawai'i; UH School of Law; UH School of Medicine)
Services typically not offered	No holds & recalls, computer labs, group study rooms, lockers, laptop loans, and remote access to restricted online databases No in-house access to Library PCs or laptops with internet access at UH Hilo & Maui College

Policy table of contents

Windward Community College Library ("Library") develops collections, resources, and services that meet the educational, instructional, and research needs of the College community. To further meet these needs, the Library provides computer and audiovisual equipment for the purpose of accessing electronic information resources and using audiovisual media. The Computer and Audiovisual Equipment Use Policy is part of the Library's overall policy structure and should be interpreted in conjunction with other existing policies and procedures.

Policy table of contents

Windward Community College Library ("Library") provides faculty with a way to lend materials they have reserved for their students to use. These materials may include physical-format items such as books, DVDs, course packets, class notes, homework solutions, sample papers, models, etc. Faculty may supply their own personal copies or place library materials on reserve.

Submission Deadlines for Course Reserves Lists and Materials

Please submit your lists and materials by the following dates to ensure your students will have access from the first day of class:

Semester	Deadline
Fall	August 1
Spring	December 1
Summer I	May 1
Summer II	June 1

While the semester is in session, submit lists and materials at least two weeks in advance of the assigned use of the material. The Library processes reserve requests in the order received.

How to Submit Course Reserves Lists and Materials

To place items on Course Reserves, complete the Reserve List Form. 

Library staff will retrieve Library-owned items. Please bring personal copies directly to the Circulation Desk.

Labels and a barcode will be affixed to each item. Because materials may become damaged or lost, the Library advises against placing valuable or irreplaceable items on reserve.

Purchase Requests for Items Not in Library Collection

If you want to reserve an item that the Library does not own, Library staff will consider a request to purchase one copy.

To make a purchase request, email a complete citation for each item (including author, title, edition, publisher, publication date, and ISBN to wcclib@hawaii.edu.

Allow at least two months for purchasing and processing items.

Number of Copies Per Course

Instructors may submit a maximum of three copies per title.

List Deactivation and Return of Materials

At the end of the Spring semester, the Library will deactivate course reserves lists. Library staff will contact you to arrange pickup or delivery of items to your campus mailbox. Library-owned items will be returned to their respective shelves.

Reactivating Lists from Previous Semesters

Course Reserves lists are not reactivated automatically. Lists used within the past two years may be reactivated by submitting a request to wcclib@hawaii.edu.

Restrictions on Course Reserve Materials

Copyright compliance is the responsibility of the submitting faculty member. The Library reserves the right to refuse or remove any course reserve item deemed impermissible under copyright law.

Section 107 of the U.S. Copyright Code outlines the Fair Use doctrine, and Section 108 of the US Copyright Code specifies the circumstances under which libraries may use duplicated materials. The American Library Association has several resources to help you determine how you may use copyrighted materials.

Copyright law allows you to place a textbook on reserve at the Library, so long as it is not done in lieu of having students purchase their own copy.

The Library cannot reserve items from its Reference or Periodicals Collections or those belonging to another library.

Classroom Showings of Reserved Media

If you have placed an audio or video recording on reserve for one of your courses, you may borrow it for up to seven days as long as the item is not on reserve for another course. Any other instructor may check out a reserved video or sound recording for up to 24 hours for classroom use. As a professional courtesy, we encourage communication between instructors to prevent misgivings or student hardship.

Questions? Contact Christy Lawes, Access Services Manager, at 808-235-7441 or clawes@hawaii.edu.

The UH System Libraries send all notices to username@hawaii.edu email addresses. These include notices about:

• items with upcoming due dates
• items ready for pick-up
• recalled items (needing an earlier return for another person's use) 
• fines and fees invoices (for overdue, damaged, or lost items)

UH students, faculty, and staff are urged to check their hawaii.edu email often and may do so through MyUH or Google@UH.  UH ITS also has instructions on forwarding UH email to a personal email account.

Policy table of contents

Executive Conference Rooms

Use

Use of the Windward Community College Library (“Library”) executive conference room(s), Hale Laʻakea 304/305, is limited to the following:

• The WCC Office of the Chancellor may request to reserve the room(s) to host Executive Staff or UH Systemwide meetings, donor/fundraising events, accreditation team visits, etc.
• UH Systemwide groups may request use of the room(s) to host meetings and events. Examples of such groups include: the Wo Learning Champions, the UH Library Council, and the UH Marketing Directors.
• The room(s) may be reserved for UH system-wide training events, such as conferences, Learning to Learn seminars, etc.
• The WCC Librarians may reserve the room(s) for information literacy workshops and class visits to the library.

Reservations

• The room(s) may be reserved a maximum of eight weeks in advance and a minimum of two working days in advance.

• Direct reservation requests to the Access Services Manager, Christy Lawes.

Room Setup

• Those reserving the room will be responsible for its setup and for returning it to its prior state at the end of the event.

• Extra chairs or tables are available upon request and must be requested at least two working days before the event.

Food

Crumbs and spills attract insects that damage library items. Please kokua:

• Food and beverages are allowed in the room(s) and must be consumed inside the room(s).
• Crumbs and spills must be thoroughly cleaned up as soon as possible. A carpet sweeper and other cleaning supplies are available upon request. If an accident occurs requiring janitorial assistance, contact the Circulation Desk immediately at (808) 235-7436.
• The Staff Lounge may be used minimally to stage food and beverage service. Please keep the staging area as compact as possible to keep the room available to building staff for its intended purpose. The refrigerator is reserved for use by building staff.
• Immediately following the event, all trash containing food or beverage must be removed from the building.
• Anyone wishing to serve alcohol must get permission in advance from the WCC Office of the Chancellor.

Keys

• A WCC administrator, staff, or faculty must present their photo ID to check out the room keys.

• During the event, the emergency exit door from the lanai must be unlocked and fully accessible. At the end of the event, it must be locked.

• The keys must remain in the building.

• The replacement cost for a lost key is $100.

Revised 06/07/2017

Policy table of contents

Individuals may contest charges for overdue, damaged, missing, or lost materials borrowed from the Windward Community College Library ("Library"). The Library intends to provide a fair and impartial review for each individual's case while exercising its responsibility for stewardship of its collections.

Step 1: Verbal Consultation

Within 90 days of the date that the charges were incurred, speak with a Circulation Manager and explain why you believe the charges should be reduced or dismissed.

Step 2: Written Appeal

If you disagree with the outcome of your consultation with the Circulation Manager, complete a written appeal using the Library Fines and Fees Appeal Form, and submit it to a Circulation Manager within 120 days of the date that the charges were incurred. The appeal will be reviewed by a library committee and a written response will be mailed to you within 30 days of receipt.  Once the committee makes a decision, the appeal process will end.

Please note:

1. Only the person in whose name the charges appear may appeal the obligation.
2. Library staff will only consider appeals made within the stipulated timeline.

Policy table of contents

Overdue Fines

Overdue fines are assessed daily, including weekends and holidays, at the following rates:

• Special collections books & pamphlets: $.25 per day.
• Recalled books: $.50 per day
• Reserve materials, regardless of format: $.50 per day
• Audiovisuals (Videos, CD-ROMs, DVDs): $1.00 per day
• Laptops: $1.00 per hour or fraction of an hour
• The maximum accumulated overdue fine is $10 per item

Lost or Damaged Library Materials

Windward Community College Library ("Library") items that are long overdue are automatically declared lost. Specifically,

• Books are lost when 41 days overdue
• Reserve items are lost when 21 days overdue
• Audiovisuals (videos) are lost when 11 days overdue
• Laptops are lost when 10 hours overdue

A replacement fee of $60 or the actual item replacement cost, whichever is greater, will be assessed for each lost or damaged Library item (other than laptops or their batteries and AC adaptors. For these replacement cost details, see the Laptop Circulation Rules page). As an alternative, an exact replacement copy may be purchased and brought to the Library. Replacement copies must be new and a purchase receipt must be provided. Accumulated fines of up $10 and a $10 processing fee will also be assessed for lost items.

Sanctions

Those who fail to pay appropriately imposed accumulated fines or fees of $10.00 or more will be blocked from borrowing any additional Library materials until the fines are paid.

Additional sanctions may be imposed under the provisions of the Rules and Regulations Governing Delinquent Financial Obligations Owed the University of Hawaii including withholding grades, transcripts, and registration for classes and/or submittal to a Collection Agency or to the Hawaii State Tax Setoff program until the fines are paid.

Copies of the Rules and Regulations are on file at the Library, the offices of the Dean of Instruction, Director of Administrative Services & the Provost, and can be viewed online.

Faculty and staff are covered by statutory law in those cases where an individual fails to make restitution for lost materials.

Appeals

For information on appeals, see Fines and Fees Appeals.

Policy table of contents

Policy table of contents

Policy table of contents

Approved by the University of Hawai'i System Libraries' Library Council on September 9, 2005.

I. Introduction

The Libraries of the University of Hawai'i System are all part of the same institutional system. Therefore, the loan of materials between campuses for students, faculty and staff is considered to be intrasystem, and such a transaction called an IntraSystem Loan (ISL). These guidelines form the basis for a voluntary agreement adopted by the Libraries of the University of Hawai'i System to govern the rules for requesting and supplying an ISL among these libraries.

ISL service is an essential means of resource sharing to expand the range of materials available to University of Hawai'i system students, faculty and staff.

II. Definition

An ISL is a transaction in which library material, or a photocopy of the material, is supplied by one system library to another. This loan of materials between campuses is called an IntraSystem Loan (ISL).

III. Purpose

The purpose of ISL is to provide a broader range of resources, in a timely manner, for University of Hawai`i students, faculty and staff than would be otherwise available at one campus. ISL acts as an adjunct to, not a replacement of, the collection development policy of each system library.

IV. Fees

A. ISL fees may be charged by the supplying library to the requesting library. Shipping charges may be charged to the requesting library in addition to this service fee:

• Loans - no fee
• Photocopies - no fee up to 50 pages; $3.00 for each additional 50 pages
• Audio-visual media and fiche duplicates - $3.00 per item 

B. Requesting libraries may impose transaction fees on patrons requesting loans.

V. Responsibilities of the Requesting Library

1. Each library shall provide the resources to meet the ordinary needs and interests of its students, faculty and staff. Materials obtained from another system library on behalf of its students, faculty and staff should generally be limited to those items that do not conform to the library's collection development policy or for which there is no recurring demand.
2. The requesting library shall make every effort to exhaust its own resources before using ISL.
3. To ensure students, faculty and staff are able to use materials in a timely manner, items may be obtained through ISL rather than through circulation Recall or Hold. 
4. Material borrowed from another library should not be put on reserve, with the exception of material from the home library to support distance education programs. In rare cases, when no other option but reserve is available, the consent of the supplying library must be obtained before putting a borrowed item on reserve. 
5. The requesting library is responsible for compliance with the copyright law (Title 17, U.S. Code) and its accompanying guidelines governing the reproduction of copyrighted material, and should inform its users of the applicable portions of the law.  
6. Material that does not circulate may be requested to be photocopied for a fee to be paid by the requesting campus if in compliance with the copyright law (Title 17, U.S. Code). The supplying library may charge a fee for large photocopy orders as specified in this document.
7. Requests should be submitted using a standard Voyager form, which transmits the bibliographic description and holdings of the requested material. In rare cases when a system library requests an item for which there is no Voyager record, the request shall be submitted via email with the statement “cannot verify” along with information about the original source of the citation.
8. All items obtained through ISL will be charged directly to the patron. The patron is then responsible for returning the items. The supplying library's circulation and fining policies apply. Fines for ISL audio-visual items are charged at a higher rate to ensure prompt return of items.
9. Renewal of ISL materials should be undertaken directly by the patron through their own account in WebVoyage. 
10. Borrowers may request up to a total of ten (10) ISL items per day.

VI. Responsibilities of the Supplying Library

1. The decision to lend materials or provide photocopies is at the discretion of the supplying library. 
2. The supplying library should process requests as promptly as staff resources allow. The conditions of the loan should be clearly stated.
3. The supplying library should promptly notify the requesting library when it is unable to fill a request, stating the reason for not filling the request. 
4. Loaned materials should be packaged carefully and delivered via Campus Mail whenever appropriate, or other expedited shipping method when not. Photocopies should be delivered electronically whenever feasible, either via Ariel® document transmission software, or as an email attachment.
5. ISL material remains the responsibility of the supplying library from the time the material leaves the supplying library until it is charged out to the patron.

VII. Duration of Loan

1. Materials arriving at the requesting library will be held for the patron for ten days from the date of notification unless specified otherwise by the supplying library.
2. The duration of loans, unless otherwise specified, is the period of time materials may remain with the requesting library or patron, depending upon to whom these materials are charged at the end of this duration, excluding the time spent in transit. 
3. ISL materials should be returned promptly. 
4. All loaned materials may be subject to recall.  

IntraSystem Loan Policy is agreed to by the following Libraries of the University of Hawai'i System:

• Honolulu Community College
• John A. Burns School of Medicine Library
• Kapi'olani Community College
• Kaua'i Community College
• Leeward Community College
• Maui Community College
• William S. Richardson School of Law Library
• Windward Community College
• University Center at West Hawai'i
• University of Hawai'i at Hilo/Hawai'i Community College
• University of Hawai'i at Mānoa
• University of Hawai'i West O'ahu

 

Intrasystem Lending Policies
Campus	Main Collection	Special Collections	Audiovisual (videos, DVDs, etc.)	Accepts AV bookings for classroom showings
UH Mānoa Hamilton	Yes (include Asia) No Microforms	No Map Collection and Special Research Collections Yes (pending permission; multiple copies) Archives, Charlot, Gov. Docs., Hawaiian and Pacific Collections*	see Sinclair/Wong	see Sinclair/Wong
UH Mānoa Sinclair	Yes	see Hamilton	Yes	Yes, via the UHM Audiovisual Class Showing Request
UH Hilo	Yes	No Map or Special Collections Yes (pending permission: multiple copies) Hawaiian collection	Yes (faculty only pending permission) Videotape, DVD and CD Collections	Yes, for Faculty only pending permission. Requests via Voyager, Patron Hold System, or email avhilo@hawaii.edu
UH West Oahu	Yes	No Special Collection or Casual Reading	Yes	Yes, via email uhwolib@hawaii.edu
UH Honolulu CC	Yes	Yes Hawaiʻi, Ocean and Popular Fiction Collections	Yes (except Ocean)	Yes, via email honcirc@hawaii.edu or Telephone 845-9220 FAX 845-3618
UH Kapi'olani CC	Yes	Yes Hawaiian Collection	No	No
UH Kaua'i CC	Yes	No Hawaiian Collection	Yes (faculty only)	Yes, via email kccisl@hawaii.edu
UH Leeward CC	Yes	No ESL, Maps or Best sellers Collections Yes Hawaii/Pacific	Yes (except for select titles) Must go thru various libraries’ ISL account to use PPH	Yes, via mediated PPH (ISL account) or email lcccirc@hawaii.edu
UH Maui CC	Yes	Yes Hawaiian Collection	No	Yes, for some items via email mcclib@hawaii.edu
UH Windward CC	Yes	Yes Hawaiʻi and READ Collections	Yes	Yes, for faculty only via email uhwill@hawaii.edu
UH West Hawai'i Center	Yes	Yes Hawaiian Collection	Yes	Yes, via email whill@hawaii.edu
UH School of Medicine	Yes (with exceptions)	N/A	N/A	N/A
UH School of Law	Yes (with exceptions)	No	No	Yes, with some exceptions. Contact Public Services Manager lawcirc@hawaii.edu

*UH Hamilton Hawaiian & Pacific Collections – Items can be requested via mediated ISL patron accounts only, request via Voyager callslip, include patron information in comments.

Policy table of contents

The Windward Community College Library ("Library") has laptop computers which can connect to the wireless campus network. This document outlines the responsibilities that individuals accept when they check out a laptop computer from the Library.

Eligible borrowers are students, faculty and staff of Windward Community College (WCC) who

1. Have a current, validated WCC ID (available at the Student Activity Center, Hale ‘Ākoakoa room 232, ph: 235-7395), Hawaii Drivers License, Hawaii State ID, Kingdom of Hawaii ID, or a Military ID.
2. Do not owe more than $10 to UH system libraries.
3. Have read this policy and agreed to its terms by signing a WCC Laptop Borrower’s Agreement.

Borrowing of laptops:

1. Laptops are available on a first come, first served basis; they may not be reserved in advance.
2. Laptops are to be used in the Library building.
3. Laptops may be checked out for up to 4 hours; laptop loans may not be renewed.
4. Laptops must be returned to the circulation desk 15 minutes before the Library closes each day.  They may not be kept overnight.
5. Overdue fines are $1.00 per hour or fraction of an hour.
6. A borrower is responsible for the laptop checked out to his/her account and will be assessed repair and/or replacement costs for any loss, theft or damage of the laptops in addition to fines and processing fees.
7. Replacement costs: laptop = $1700; AC adaptor= $120; battery =$150.
8. All users must abide by the Libraries of the University of Hawai'i System Circulation Policy, Revised Nov 2017, the UH Policy on the Use and Management of Information Technology Resources, and the Windward Community College Library Computer and Audiovisual Equipment Use Policy.

Laptop users are expected to exercise reasonable care and must take the following precautions:

1. Safeguard the laptop at all times; never leave it unattended. If the laptop is lost, stolen or damaged, repair and/or replacement costs and fines and processing fees will be charged.
2. Save all work to a flash drive. All files saved to the laptop will be erased upon logging off or shut down. The Library is not responsible for any lost or damaged files.
3. Close the screen securely when transporting the laptop as the screen can easily damage. 
4. Return the laptops directly to the staff at the Circulation Desk who will check for damage.
5. Immediately report malfunctions and unusual programs or software to the Circulation Desk.
6. Use the AC adaptor whenever possible to extend the battery life.
7. Do not add, delete, or change any programs, applications, files, screen savers or bookmarks.

Policy table of contents

The resources and services provided by the Windward Community College Library ("Library") are designed to support Windward Community College programs, students, faculty, and staff. The Library Use Policy was created to ensure a welcoming, intellectual, and safe environment for all users in the pursuit of study and research.

A. General Use: Use of the Library is intended for research, individual or collaborative studying, and learning in a quiet environment.

Users may not

• Engage in disruptive activity or any behavior that interferes with ordinary Library use or operation. Examples include, but are not limited to, cell phone ringing/phone conversations, loud audio from electronic devices, or obstructing pathways.

• Interfere with an employee's performance of duties.

B. Facility Use: Library facilities are intended for Library activities and activities sponsored by the Library. Users are expected to respect Library facilities for the preservation of the building, furniture and equipment, and resources for current and future users.

Users may not

• Damage or alter the layout of the building, furniture, equipment, or materials.

• Bring food or uncovered beverages into the building, with the exception of the coffee shop and adjoining dining area. 

• Bring animals into the building, with the exception of service animals as defined the Americans With Disabilities Act Title II Regulations (Title II 35.136).

• Bring bikes or motorized carts into the building. Mobility aids, other than those used by persons with disabilities or for babies, are not permitted in the Library unless carried as personal property (e.g. skateboards, scooters).

• Enter or remain in unauthorized areas of Library facilities at any time, or in any area when it is closed to the public. Users must leave the building at closing, during emergencies, and whenever requested by Library staff or safety/security personnel.

• Post or distribute unauthorized material.

• Engage in vending, peddling, panhandling, or solicitation of merchandise/services.

• Leave personal belongings unattended. Responsibility for damage or theft of personal property is with the user.

C. Children's Library Use: Children under 13 years of age must be accompanied and supervised by a parent or guardian at all times. Parents are responsible for children's use of the Library.

Revised 12/18/2015

Policy table of contents

University of Hawai'i System Students, Faculty and Staff

Collection	Windward Students	Windward Faculty & Staff	UH Students from Other Campuses	UH Faculty & Staff from Other Campuses	Community Users
Main,  Read, and Closed Shelves Collection	Books: 28 day loan 5 renewals Recalled books: 14 day loan Limit: 10 Videos, CD-Roms, DVDs: 7 day loan 1 renewal Limit: 5	Books: 6 month loan 99 renewals Recalled books: 14 day loan. Limit: 10 Videos, CD-Roms, DVDs: 7 day loan 1 renewal Limit: 5	Books: Undergraduates: 28 day loan Graduates: 3 month loan All: 5 renewals Recalled books: 14 day loan Limit: 10 Videos, CD-Roms, DVDs: 7 day loan 1 renewal Limit: 5	Books: 6 month loan 99 renewals Recalled books: 14 day loan Limit: 10 Videos, CD-Roms, DVDs: 7 day loan 1 renewal Limit: 5	Books: 28 day loan 1 renewal Recalled books: 14 day loan Limit: 10 Videos, CD-Roms, DVDs: 7 day loan No renewals Limit: 5
Reserve Collection	All items: 7 day, 2 day, or use in library No renewals Limits: 2	All items: ​7 day, 2 day, or use in library No renewals Limits: 2	All items: Use in library	All items: Use in library
Hawaiʻi Collection	Books: First copy: Use in library Other copies: 14 day loan 1 renewal Limit: 5 Videos, CDs, CD-Roms, DVDs, kits, slides, games, cassettes, phonorecords: First Copy: Use in library Other Copies: 7 day loan 1 renewal Limit: 5	Books: First copy: Use in library Other copies: 14 day loan 1 renewal Limit: 5 Videos, CDs, CD-Roms, DVDs, kits, slides, games, cassettes, phonorecords: First Copy: Use in library Other Copies: 7 day loan 1 renewal Limit: 5	Books: First copy: Use in library Other copies: 14 day loan No renewals Limit: 5 Videos, CDs, CD-Roms, DVDs, kits, slides, games, cassettes, phonorecords: First Copy: Use in library. Other Copies: 7 day loan No renewals Limit: 5	Books: First copy: Use in library Other copies: 14 day loan No renewals Limit: 5 Videos, CDs, CD-Roms, DVDs, kits, slides, games, cassettes, phonorecords: First Copy: Use in library. Other Copies: 7 day loan No renewals Limit: 5	All items: Use in library
Maps, Art prints, Posters	7 day loan 1 renewal Limit: 4	7 day loan 1 renewal Limit: 4	7 day loan 1 renewal Limit: 4	7 day loan 1 renewal Limit: 4	Use in library
Reference, Periodicals, & all other materials	Use in library	Use in library	Use in library	Use in library	Use in library

Policy table of contents