Most Japanese language books are going to be found in specific areas of the library. The following list contains call number ranges you can use to browse library books about Japanese language and literature.
It's fairly easy to install Japanese keyboards on non-Japanese computers. In fact, most computers have a Japanese keyboard that you can easily activate. Here are some tips for installing or activating a Japanese keyboard on your computer from the Japanese language website, Tofugu.
The following are workbooks that help in kana memorization and practice.
Japanese Hiragana by
This workbook has been carefully designed to facilitate the quick and easy mastery of the forty-six character hiragana syllabary used to write all types of native words not written in kanji. Each character is introduced here with brushed, handwritten, and typed samples to enhance character recognition.
Writing Japanese Katakana by
This is an introductory guide and workbook to writing Japanese Katakana. Anybody who is able to master English, with its irregular spellings and idiosyncratic pronunciations, is more than equipped to master written Japanese. The hiragana and katakana syllabaries are purely phonetic characters, which function much like the letters of the English alphabet. In this respect, kana are quite different from kanji characters, which are based on Chinese ideographs and which represent ideas. The katakana syllabary is used primarily to represent borrowed words (from languages other than Chinese), although it is also used for botanical names and is sometimes used in place of hiragana or kanji for emphasis. In some ways, the use of katakana in Japanese parallels the use of italics in English. Writing practice is the most effective method of mastering written Japanese, and the large open format of this workbook is designed to invite the student to pick up a pencil and start writing. Written Japanese comprises two phonetic syllabaries, hiragana and katakana, and a set of kanji characters that are based on Chinese ideographs. This workbook has been carefully designed to facilitate the quick and easy mastery of the 46–character katakana alphabet, making it the perfect tool to begin the process of mastering written Japanese. Each character is introduced with brushed, handwritten and typed samples that enhance character recognition. Extensive space for writing allows maximum practice to facilitate memorization and to ensure proper character formation. Entertaining illustrations and amusing examples of loan–words that use katakana in Japanese writings further reinforce memorization in a fun way. Writing Katakana is tailored to the specific needs of young students of the Japanese language, but is also well suited to beginning students of any age. This workbook contains: grayed–out, trace–over characters for correct character construction Extensive practice in writing sentences for maximum reinforcement Supplementary explanations, including a brief history of the origin of each character, to foster visual recall.
Japanese Hiragana for Beginners by
Learn how to write all the basic Japanese hiragana with this user-friendly workbook. Japanese Hiragana for Beginners makes learning hiragana fast and effective by using memorable picture mnemonics, along with clear explanations, examples and lots of fun exercises--a method that has helped thousands of students learn hiragana successfully in the United States and Japan. Picture mnemonics enhance memory by associating the shape and sound of each hiragana character with combinations of images and English words already familiar to students. This Japanese language learning book is divided into three main sections: Section 1 introduces the basic 46 hiragana characters along with writing tips and practice exercises. Section 2 teaches the usage rules that allow students to write Japanese sounds. Section 3 strengthens students’ skills through a wide range of exercises (word searches, crossword puzzles, fill in the blanks, visual discrimination, timed quizzes, etc). A set of flash cards printed on perforated cardstock and a list of suggested flash card activities, are also provided at the end of the book. Each of these cards introduces a hiragana character along with picture mnemonic that helps to recognize and remember it.
Learning Japanese Hiragana and Katakana by
Learning Hiragana and Katakana is a systematic and comprehensive workbook that can be used along with a Japanese language textbook or as a stand-alone resource to learn the Japanese alphabet (kana). Japanese has 3 writing systems, all used together: hiragana, katakana and kanji. Learning Japanese Hiragana & Katakana helps newcomers learn how to use the first two systems' basic 92 characters to read, write and communicate. With expanded writing and preparation space, this revised edition offers ample provisions for practice, review and self-testing at several levels. It also includes a detailed reference section explaining the origin and function of kana and the various kana combinations. Complete with a detailed pronunciation guide, this volume will prove invaluable for beginning students or those accustomed to romanized Japanese (romanji). This workbook is a perfect companion to Tuttle Publishing's Japanese Hiragana & Katakana for Beginners or any other Japanese textbook on the market. This workbook includes: Systematic and comprehensive coverage of the two kana systems Ample provision for kana practice, review, and self-testing at several levels Detailed reference section explaining the origin and function of kana, and the various kana combinations Helpful additional information for language students accustomed to romanized Japanese Japanese pronunciation guidance for all basic sounds Vocabulary selected for usefulness and cultural relevance
Remembering the Kanji 1 by
Updated to include the 196 new kanji approved by the Japanese government in 2010 as "general-use" kanji, the sixth edition of this popular text aims to provide students with a simple method for correlating the writing and the meaning of Japanese characters in such a way as to make them both easy to remember. It is intended not only for the beginner, but also for the more advanced student looking for some relief from the constant frustration of forgetting how to write the kanji, or for a way to systematize what he or she already knows. The author begins with writing the kanji because--contrary to first impressions--it is in fact simpler than learning how to the pronounce them. By ordering the kanji according to their component parts or "primitive elements," and then assigning each of these parts a distinct meaning with its own distinct image, the student is led to harness the powers of "imaginative memory" to learn the various combinations that make up the kanji. In addition, each kanji is given its own key word to represent the meaning, or one of the principal meanings, of that character. These key words provide the setting for a particular kanji's "story," whose protagonists are the primitive elements. In this way, one is able to complete in a few short months a task that would otherwise take years. Armed with the same skills as Chinese or Korean students, who know the meaning and writing of the kanji but not their Japanese pronunciations, one is then in a much better position to learn the readings (which are treated in a separate volume). Remembering the Kanji has helped tens of thousands of students advance towards literacy at their own pace, and to acquire a facility that traditional methods have long since given up on as all but impossible for those not raised with the kanji from childhood.
Learning Japanese Kanji Practice Book Volume 1 by
This is an invaluable study guide and practice book for learning basic Japanese kanji. Learning Japanese Kanji Practice Book is intended for beginning students, or experienced speakers who need to practice their written Japanese. Kanji are an essential part of the Japanese language and together with kana (hiragana and katakana) comprise written Japanese. This book presents the kanji characters that are most commonly used. All the kanji and related vocabulary words in this book are those that students are expected to know for Level 5 of the Japanese Language Proficiency Test. (JLPT). Characters that appear in the AP Japanese Language and Culture Exam are flagged. Readings, meanings, and common compounds are presented. The correct method of writing each character is clearly indicated and practice boxes with strokes that can be traced are provided, along with empty boxes for freehand writing practice. Lots of exercises are included to give students the opportunity to practice writing sentences containing the Kanji. Indexes at the back allow you to look up the characters by their readings and English meanings. This book includes: Step-by-step stroke order diagrams for each character. Special boxes with grid lines to practice writing characters. Words and phrases using each kanji. Romanizations (romanji) to help identify and pronounce every word.
Read Japanese Today by
This is the quickest way to effectively learn written Japanese. Japanese characters, called kanji, often intimidate potential students of the language with their complex and mysterious appearance. Read Japanese Today is a comprehensible and story-like approach to an often difficult language. Intended for people on the go, this book will teach you to recognize and read the 400 most commonly used Japanese kanji characters. Completely revised and expanded and featuring 25 percent more kanji than previous editions, Read Japanese Today is a fun way to demystify the beautiful Japanese language. Far from being complex and mysterious, Japanese kanji are actually a simple and fascinating pictographic system, easily understood and readily mastered. With the approach used in this easy-to-read, entertaining book, you'll soon be able to recognize and read more than 400 kanji, whether or not you have any knowledge of Japanese grammar or the spoken language. The kanji characters stick in your mind thanks to an engaging text and illustrations that show how each character developed and what it represents. The description for each kanji explains its origin, its modern meaning, and how it is pronounced. Many examples of everyday usage are included. Read Japanese Today also includes: A brief history of the Japanese writing system. Explanations for how the parts of each kanji are related to the whole. Guidelines for writing Kanji and pronouncing words using them. An introduction to the Japanese hiragana and katakana syllabaries. A complete index to English meanings and a summary table for all of the kanji that are introduced in the book.
Essential Japanese Kanji Volume 1 by
Essential Japanese Kanji uses a natural approach to learning the most basic kanji encountered in everyday situations in Japan. This new edition is packed with fun quizzes and useful exercises for those wishing to improve their Japanese ability. It has been repackaged in a more compact, value-for-money size while losing none of the content that has made it a long-selling favorite. Key features of Essential Japanese Kanji include: Introductory quizzes to introduce everyday situations in which the Kanji are used A vocabulary section to help you understand the readings and meanings of each Kanji New character charts presenting all the Kanji clearly and systematically Definitions, readings, stroke orders and compounds for each character Practice sections help you to improve your skills Advanced Placement Exam practice questions follow the format of the College Board exam Everyday tasks like finding a street address or buying a train ticket in Japan require a basic working knowledge of kanji--the Japanese system of writing based on Chinese characters. Essential Japanese Kanji, teaches you the kanji you'll need in everyday situations in lessons prepared by teachers from the prestigious University of Tokyo.
A Guide to Reading and Writing Japanese by
This is an essential study tool for students seeking to learn Japanese and dramatically improve their ability to read and write kanji and kana. Students have been reading and writing the Japanese language for centuries, and they build their knowledge most successfully when they rely on a trusted resource. Today's most trusted--and readily available--resource is A Guide to Reading and Writing Japanese. This classic, best-selling learning and reference work, trusted by beginning and intermediate students of Japanese is the best way to learn kanji and kana, and is now being offered as a fourth, thoroughly revised and up-to-date edition. Having a knowledge of the full set of General Use characters is the key to mastering everyday Japanese and will allow students to read and write Japanese up to the level of a typical Japanese newspaper with ease and confidence. Key features of this revised edition include: The most recent changes prescribed by the Japanese Ministry of Education. Covers all the 2,136 characters in the 'General Use' / Joyo Kanji set. Special codes indicate the kanji required for the JLPT and AP exams. Full range of Japanese character readings and English definitions Stroke counts, sroke-order diagrams, and compounds. Essential Japanese characters are presented according to the new arrangement by grade, based on their frequency of usage rather than their complexity. Numerous examples are given of the kanji compounds and derivatives used to form everyday words in Japanese.
The Kodansha Kanji Learners Dictionary by
This dictionary contains the 2000 kanji and 24,000 kanji compounds necessary to understand contemporary Japanese. Characters that correspond to core meanings are highlighted in red for easy reference. They are then followed by character meanings that illustrate how these characters are combined. This dictionary contains the 2000 kanji and 24,000 kanji compounds necessary to understand contemporary Japanese. Characters that correspond to core meanings are highlighted in red for easy reference. They are then followed by character meanings that illustrate how these characters are
Windward Community College Library