Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Local Oral History Collections and Projects
Center for Oral History Collection
The University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa's Center for Oral History has conducted dozens of oral history projects, focusing on Hawaiʻi's ethnic groups, industries and historical events. Transcripts of the interviews are available to the public via the Center for Oral History's community in the UHM institutional repository ScholarSpace.
Hula Preservation Society
The Hula Preservation Society (HPS) is dedicated to documenting hula through one-on-one oral histories of kumu hula and elders. As of 2014, they have recorded over 1,200 hours with more than 80 kūpuna. This link takes you to the kūpuna directory. Inquire with HPS about video footage and transcripts.
Uluʻulu Moving Image Archives
Films and videotapes related to the history and culture of Native Hawaiians and the people of Hawai‘i. Includes in original footage and locally produced tv shows.
Hawaiʻi Stories of Change: Kokua Hawaiʻi Oral History Project
When several poor minority communities in Hawaii faced evictions in the 1970s, groups of volunteer organizers and their associates were willing to stand between the tenants and the bulldozers. This eBook, Hawaii Stories of Change, includes interviews with Kokua Hawaii organizers, community leaders and associates who helped to successfully resist the evictions and contributed to the beginnings of the Hawaiian Renaissance.
Ka Leo o Hawaiʻi Radio Program, 1991-2000
In 1972 the radio program Ka Leo Hawaiʻi (The Hawaiian Voice), was broadcast on KCCN-AM. It was originally conceived as a 30-minute, bi-weekly program on Sundays, but due to popular demand it was soon extended to a weekly hour-long format. Ka Leo Hawaiʻi was a general interest talk show consisting of interviews with native speakers. Larry Kimura, one of the program’s founders, describes the show as an effort to “help and support Hawaiian language students to get their ears used to hearing the Hawaiian language.” Although this is not a traditional oral history, this is a great example of interview techniques you may want to implement.
Oral History Resources
Oral History in the Digital Age
A comprehensive guide to conducting oral history projects produced by the nationally recognized, Institute of Museum and Library Services. Essays on various oral history topics can be found here as well as best practices for your project.
Oral History Association (OHA) Principles and Best Practices
A membership organization committed to promoting oral history. OHA sets standards, guidelines, and best practices for conducting oral history. This link takes you to a list of their recommendations.
How to do Oral History by
Publication Date: 2010
Guide on how to conduct an oral history project. Emphasizes preparation for the interview, how to conduct the interview properly, and how to process and preserve the interview information for safekeeping and future use. Discusses project selection, research, the initial contact, the pre-interview, and equipment needed.
Catching Stories by
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
In neighborhoods, schools, community centers, and workplaces, people are using oral history to capture and collect the kinds of stories that the history books and the media tend to overlook: stories of personal struggle and hope, of war and peace, of family and friends, of beliefs, traditions, and values--the stories of our lives. Catching Stories: A Practical Guide to Oral History is a clear and comprehensive introduction for those with little or no experience in planning or undertaking oral history projects. Opening with the key question, "Why do oral history?" the guide outlines the stages of a project from idea to final product--planning and research, the interviewing process, basic technical principles, and audio and video recording techniques. The guide covers interview transcribing, ethical and legal issues, archiving, funding sources, and sharing oral history with audiences.
Doing Oral History by
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
Doing Oral History is considered the premier guidebook to oral history, used by professional oral historians, public historians, archivists, and genealogists as a core text in college courses and throughout the public history community. This basic manual offers detailed advice on setting up an oral history project, conducting interviews, making video recordings, preserving oral history collections in archives and libraries, and teaching and presenting oral history.
Oral History: Understanding Qualitative Research by
Call Number: Available Online
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Oral History is part of the Understanding Qualitative Research series, which is designed to provide researchers with authoritative guides to understanding, presenting, and critiquing analyses and associated inferences. There are three subareas in this series: Quantitative Research, Measurement, and Qualitative Research. This volume fits in the Qualitative Research group and addresses issues surrounding oral history - how to both fully and succinctly report and present this material, as well as the challenges of evaluating it.
Windward Community College Library • 45-720 Keaʻahala Rd. • Kāneʻohe, HI 96744
Content: Windward Community College Library